HomeForumShopResourcesEvents

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
General Discussion
  • Page:

TOPIC: Squeal on E grace note to low G

Squeal on E grace note to low G 1 year 4 months ago #485

This high-pitched squeal happens consistently (small pipes in A), even with different reeds, when I try to play an E grace note to low G. It might be bad fingering, since I'm new to the pipes, but same thing happens when I tape off all the bottom hand holes. Any thoughts?
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Squeal on E grace note to low G 1 year 4 months ago #488

• Tunni
  • Expert Boarder
  • Thank you received: 11
Hi Wheelsonfire

I have had real problems with a similar kind of thing on shutting down from high A on my newish (now 18 months) border pipes and I've been playing highland pipes for donkeys now! I'd suggest that painful though it might be it probably is a fingering difficulty, just as mine was/is, especially as you are new to the pipes.

Stick with it and practice your grace notes slowly up and down the scale. Anyone who has played for a while will tell you that it takes a good deal of diligent work before grace notes can be fired off at will. While you are learning I'd suggest timing is much more important than ornamentation anyway. So go with learning the tune stripped down and put the ornamentation in when you've really nailed it down.

Another thing to watch out for is getting a bit carried away with the bellows when you are concentrating on hitting that note. Try and keep the pressure consistent with the notes you are trying to play. A final tip would be to try and keep your chanter still too. If you watch any of the really skilled players at work you will see there's a real stillness to how the instrument is held and pressurised. The speed of movement is just the fingers. Good luck and have fun!

Squeal on E grace note to low G 1 year 4 months ago #490

• Tunni
  • Expert Boarder